About Us


Shawn began traveling internationally since 13 and has never stopped. He has been to over 70 countries, preferring to use HospEx sites for the last 15 years and making wonderful lifelong friends, facilitating community and expanding his cultural horizons from those he met along the way. A former nomadic ambassador with Couchsurfing, he is passionate about seeing such networks thrive in whatever circumstances happen upon the planet. He currently volunteers with Trustroots


I am Marcel alias Marstr on BeWelcome. I’m a climber, hiker, biker, rower and photographer and work as a software developer.
For me hospitality exchange (hospex) is a way to share cultures, opinions, to have fun with people. And to tear down the borders between people from other countries or within their own country – starting with tearing down one’s own borders.
My aim is to save the diversity of cultures and to accept other lifestyles at the same time.
My motto is “learning from each other”.


My name’s Sarah 30 years old from Tunis, Tunisia born & raised with Turkish origins from İzmir. Everybody calls me “Sarah Polyglot” as I’m a language nerd, speaking 5 languages (Arabic, French, English, Spanish and Turkish) currently learning Italian and German (on my to becoming a hyper Polyglot lol). I’m The proud CEO of Polyglot Club Tunis (an international language and culture exchange club) and members since October 2013. I’ve since joined 18 different groups & clubs and met amazing folks both online and offline and I can’t wait to write the next chapter of my crazy life journey!


I am 25 years old. I was brought up in Israel in an English-speaking family. In June 2020 I graduated with a degree in Computer Science from Marburg University, in Frankfurt, Germany. I speak English and Hebrew as a native, and I’ve become fluent in German by living in Germany for the past few years (fast akzentfrei).
I am currently living in Bern, Switzerland, working for a company called Aarenet.


Elbow sometimes know as Aussie

An Australian stuck in the UK for the last 20 years.  I have been travelling since I was a toddler really having a very nomadic childhood.  I love hosting travellers when I am not travelling and have been hosting for as long as I can remember.  I have mainly used the Couchsurfing platform for this but have recently just signed up with couchers.  I am a burner, lover of tall bikes and coloured beards, dressing up and not playing by the rules, I also want to do more long distance cycling, come visit me.


Robin, a German boy who is a very active member of hospex- networks for over ten years, made his passion of travelling to profession and seriously feels that it becomes time for coming together, discussing, and keeping an eye on a sustainable development of what puts so much quality into our life: Hospitality and intercultural exchange.